Tifinger and other typing tutors, side by side.
A fair comparison for parents choosing how their child learns to touch type. Every tool here is good at something. The table shows where each one fits, including where another tool is the better choice.
Checked on 26 October 2026. Prices and features change; tell us if something is out of date: support@tifinger.theill.com.
At a glance
✓ yes · ✗ no · ◐ partly · ? unclear or not stated. The marks answer the question in each row; they are not a score.
Swipe the table sideways to see every column.
| Feature | Tifinger | TypingClub | Typing.com | Master of Typing for Kids | keybr.com |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price | $4.99 once on the Mac App Store (coming soon). No in-app purchases. | Free with ads. Individual Premium: $78 a year ($35 on sale when checked). | Free with ads. PLUS (ad-free): price by quote, per seat and term. | Free download. In-app purchases from $9.99 to $39.99, including 1–3-month subscriptions. | Free with ads. Premium: a one-time payment (kr 66,70 when checked from Denmark). |
| Free to use | No free version or trial | Yes, with ads | Yes, with ads | Partly: The beginner level and a few lessons | Yes, with ads |
| Ad-free | Yes: Completely ad-free | Not in the free editions (Google AdSense); paid editions have no ads | Not in the free version (ads managed by Playwire); PLUS has no ads | Not in the free version; a “No ADS” in-app purchase ($9.99) removes them | Not in the free version; a premium account removes the ads |
| Use without an account | Yes, there is no account at all | Yes, but an account is needed to save progress | Yes, but an account is needed to save progress | Unclear: Not stated in the App Store listing | Yes; progress is kept in the browser, an account is optional |
| Works offline | Yes, fully; the app has no network access | No: Website: needs a connection | No: Website: needs a connection | Unclear: Not stated | No: Website: needs a connection |
| Devices | Mac only (macOS 14 or later) | Web browser (Windows, Mac, Chromebook …); iPad app for school accounts | Web browser (Windows, Mac, Chromebook …) | Mac only (macOS 12 or later) | Web browser (Windows, Mac, Chromebook …) |
| Keyboard layouts | Follows the Mac’s own layout: Danish, Norwegian, Swedish, German, US and others, including accents typed with two keys | Courses for several languages, plus Dvorak and Colemak; Danish and Norwegian: unclear | Unclear: Not stated | English, German, French, Spanish, Italian and Russian; no Danish or other Nordic layout listed | Many, including Danish, Norwegian, Swedish, Finnish, German, Dvorak and Colemak |
| Practice text languages | 11: Danish, English, German, French, Spanish, Italian, Dutch, Swedish, Norwegian, Brazilian Portuguese and Japanese (romaji). Korean users practise English words. | English and about 20 others, such as German, French, Spanish and Swedish | English, Spanish and Portuguese | 6: English, German, French, Spanish, Italian and Russian | More than 30, including Danish, Norwegian, Swedish, Finnish and German |
| App or site languages | 12, including Danish, Swedish, Norwegian, German, Japanese and Korean | Unclear: Not stated | US English, UK English, Spanish and Portuguese | 10, including English, German, French, Japanese and Korean | About 40 |
| Course for beginners | Yes: 27 lessons from the home row to numbers, capitals and sentences | Yes: Typing Jungle (701 lessons), Jungle Junior for young children, and courses per grade | Yes: Beginner, intermediate and advanced lessons, and courses per grade | Yes: Step-by-step drills from single letters to whole texts | Partly: No fixed lessons: new letters are added as your speed improves |
| Placement test | Yes: A 2-minute test that starts the course at the right lesson | Unclear: Not found | Partly: Typing tests and a beginner assessment | Unclear: Not mentioned | Partly: No test; lessons adapt to your speed on each key |
| Practice on weak keys | Yes: Drills on the keys that slip | Unclear: Not found | Yes: Adaptive practice on problem keys | Unclear: Not mentioned | Yes: The core of its method |
| Games | Yes: One (a balloon game) | Yes; Premium adds three more | Yes: A games section | Partly: A leaderboard and rewards; no game listed | Yes: Multiplayer races |
| Progress view for parents or teachers | Yes: A family progress view, on the same Mac | Yes: Reports in the school edition; advanced reports in Premium | Yes: A free teacher portal; homeschooling parents can set up a class | Unclear: Not mentioned | No: Personal statistics only |
| Classroom tools | None | Yes: Classes and rostering (Clever, ClassLink, Google Classroom); the free plan has up to 3 classes | Yes: Free classes and reports; assignments and automatic grading in PLUS | Unclear: Not mentioned | None found |
| Data collection | None. App Store privacy label: “Data Not Collected” | Free editions: Google Analytics and targeted ads. Paid accounts: nothing shared with advertisers. | Free version: Google Analytics and ad partners. PLUS: nothing shared with advertisers. | App Store privacy label: identifiers, usage and advertising data and coarse location, not linked to the user, also used for third-party advertising | Google Analytics and advertising cookies (with consent). Premium removes ads and trackers. |
| Sync between devices | No; profiles stay on one Mac | Yes: With an account | Yes: With an account | Unclear: Not mentioned | Yes: With an optional account |
| More than typing | No: Typing only | Yes: A large library: vocabulary, digital citizenship, reading and more | Yes: Digital citizenship, AI literacy, coding and more (much of it in PLUS) | Partly: AI dictation exercises | Partly: A typing test and keyboard layout statistics |
Master of Typing has several editions on the Mac App Store. The table shows Master of Typing for Kids. Master of Typing: Tutor and Master of Typing 3 are also free downloads, with subscriptions from $6.99 a week to $79.99 a year.
When another tool is the better choice
Your child’s school already uses one
If the class practises in TypingClub, Typing.com or another school tool, such as 10-Finger from Vitec MV, practising at home in the same tool keeps everything in one place, and the teacher sees the progress.
You need Windows, a Chromebook or an iPad
Tifinger only runs on a Mac. TypingClub, Typing.com and keybr work in a web browser on most computers.
You want it free
TypingClub, Typing.com and keybr are free with ads, and Master of Typing for Kids has a free beginner level. Tifinger has no free version.
You teach a class
TypingClub and Typing.com have classes, rosters, assignments and reports for teachers. Tifinger has no teacher or class features.
You practise on several devices
With an account, TypingClub, Typing.com and keybr keep progress in sync between devices. Tifinger keeps its profiles on one Mac.
You want more languages or layouts
keybr has practice text in more than 30 languages and many alternative layouts such as Colemak and Dvorak, and TypingClub has courses in about 20 languages.
Where Tifinger fits
Tifinger is made for children and teens who practise on the family Mac: a set course on their own keyboard layout, a placement test, practice on weak keys and a progress view for parents, with no ads, no account and nothing sent anywhere, for one payment. If that matches what you’re looking for, it’s a good fit. If not, one of the tools above probably is.
Sources
Checked on 26 October 2026. Prices and features change; tell us if something is out of date: support@tifinger.theill.com.
- TypingClub: front page
- TypingClub: Individual Edition, 1-year subscription (EdClub store)
- TypingClub: school edition pricing, Free vs. Pro
- TypingClub: for schools
- TypingClub: content library
- TypingClub (EdClub): privacy policy
- EdClub iPad app on the App Store
- Typing.com: front page
- Typing.com: PLUS Edition
- Typing.com: lessons
- Typing.com: homeschool
- Typing.com: privacy policy
- Master of Typing for Kids on the Mac App Store
- Master of Typing: Tutor on the Mac App Store
- Master of Typing 3 on the Mac App Store
- keybr.com: help (the teaching method)
- keybr.com: account and premium
- keybr.com: privacy policy and cookie declaration
- keybr.com: source code (keyboard layouts and languages)
- Tifinger: privacy
TypingClub, Typing.com, Master of Typing and keybr are names that belong to their respective owners. Tifinger isn’t affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by any of them. The facts above come from each product’s own website, App Store listing and privacy policy.